New Zealand is one of the sportiest countries in the world. Ask any sports fan, and they will tell you that rugby is the most famous discipline in the country. For its rugby to attain such commendable standards, there has been the presence of rugby teams which participate in international and local leagues. They include the following.

New Zealand National Rugby Union Team

The team is famously known as the All Blacks. This is one of the best clubs worldwide, and this is evident from the last two world cups in 2011 and 2015, which they won. They also lifted the World Cup inaugural trophy in 1987. Steve Hansen is their head coach, and Kieran Read is the captain.

All Black Sevens

This is a team under the National Rugby Union, and its head coach is Clark Laidlaw. It participates in seven-a-side rugby. Their current captain is Scott Curry. The team has appeared in the Rugby World Cup Sevens six times, and they became champions in 2001, 2002 and 2018.

Junior All Blacks

This is the second national team, after the New Zealand national rugby union team. They have two coaches, namely Colin Cooper and Ian Foster. The New Zealand based team is captained by Tamati Ellison. Their biggest win was against Fiji in 2007, and they won by 57-8.


This is a rugby team under the New Zealand Rugby Union, and it was founded in 1996. They are situated in Christchurch, and they have their stadium there with a capacity of 18600. Super Rugby is the league they participate in, and Scott Robertson is their coach, with Sam Whitelock as their captain.


They are commonly known as the Canes and have their ground located in Wellington. The team has a rich history with TJ Perenara having 127 appearances, and Beauden Barrett as the all-time top scorer, with 1118 tries.